Arizona Home Defense
5.0
Based on 4 Reviews
Anthony S.
Anthony S.
2017-02-09 08:44:25
Attended the Concealed Weapons Course last night - great! This is the second course I've taken with Arizona Home Defense and like the first, this was...
Mike S.
Mike S.
2017-04-22 19:23:23
My wife and I have a small arsenal of firearms and haven't been shooting in decades. We took the lot to Cowtown and spent 3 hours of private instruction...
Laura G.
Laura G.
2015-11-26 06:10:24
I took their 2 hour CCW class, and I was amazed how interesting it was. I was expecting a dry uptight class, but instead it was real world informative and...

 

Facebook Reviews

Arizona Home Defense
5.0
powered by Facebook
Ryan Amwake
Ryan Amwake
2017-06-15T06:28:46+0000
Really really really good. Also, really really really professional. So thankful I didn't go to one of those random google results where the instructors feel so impersonal
Gregory Kaleiwahea Cabuslay
Gregory Kaleiwahea Cabuslay
2017-05-25T06:34:19+0000
First of all, both Virgil and Sky were great from the start. They are professional, concise, and enjoyable people to be around. Not to mention they have both served in the Marines! I took their course and the presentation was detailed but easy to understand thanks to explanation and materials provided. They are both certified NRA Trainers and have a lot of knowledge. I also love the fact that they send the necessary paperwork out and do the leg work, making it a seamless experience. Taking their course will not disappoint.
Miles Zeisberg
Miles Zeisberg
2017-04-16T00:25:18+0000
Virgil is a great teacher. Not only is he safe, but takes his time to meet the student where they are and bring them up from there. He assisted teaching my 9 year old nephew today as well as my father who has been shooting guns for over 25 years. I highly recommend him to anybody looking to build more skill in shooting. Thanks Virgil!!
Nick Delgado
Nick Delgado
2017-04-13T04:39:47+0000
Took the AZ CCW course. Great class! Virgil is a great instructor and is very efficient and knowledgeable with his instruction. All of the instructors are Marines with real world experience. I appreciate them serving our country and am very happy to support a business ran by veterans. Looking forward to taking more classes with them in the future.
Johnnie Oz
Johnnie Oz
2017-03-26T04:37:53+0000
Took their CCW class. For two hours you get concise information and more personal since it is a small class compared with others. Place is clean, material provided is well made. I´m looking forward to take their advanced classes.
Tania Curty
Tania Curty
2017-03-16T04:34:48+0000
These guys are amazing! They are entertaining, very well informed, break it down so ANYONE can understand it and it is VERY VERY WORTH IT! Thank you Virgil and Schuyler!
Thomas Shields
Thomas Shields
2017-03-02T22:41:35+0000
Great class, I highly recommend it. The atmosphere was relaxed but Virgil still got his point across.
Tyler Dresslar
Tyler Dresslar
2017-03-02T04:08:49+0000
Virgil and Skyler are top notch!!!! Excellent instruction and entertaining delivery of ALL you need to know about guns. Fell so much better about owning a fire arm!!!!
Pauly Bushnuts
Pauly Bushnuts
2017-01-12T06:07:47+0000
Great Class! very knowledgeable. highly recommend!
Michael Terranova
Michael Terranova
2017-01-08T19:33:28+0000
ATTENTION MUST READ! I recently took an advanced handgun course with Virgil and Sky. To start off both of these gentleman have served our country numerous times and I for one refuse to take that for granted, So thank you! Additionally both of them were well prepared, professional and answered all my questions prior and during range time. Another thing of note is these guys are actually likable. Anyone who has been to a range has dealt with the overbearing obnoxious range safety officers or know it all instructors. That drives me crazy and I cannot overlook the fact that why I was a student Virgil and Sky showed me respect and did not treat me like an idiot. I am currently in law enforcement and while not totally incompetent I did need some trigger time as well as some fine tuning on the more advanced tactics of firearms training. As such I found AHD and was extremely happy to see the instructors were combat veterans who had been put through their paces. These guys knew what they were doing and it is immediately evident. I refuse to take training from someone who doesn't know what they are doing and it was refreshing to get quality training. Once out on the range we went through some drills before shooting and I picked up some nifty tricks for shaving time off my draw and maintaining accuracy on the move. Once we started the course Virgil and Sky had numerous drills for me to work on and it was clear they had done their homework. Everything was well prepared and everything had a purpose. I am a big proponent of training how you fight, popping off rounds at a local range is fun but if I'm not working on anything in specific then I'm just wasting money. Overall my experience was beyond what I had expected. From start to finish Virgil and Sky took care of me and I can see the care and pride they take in what they do. I felt welcome, safe, and above all I learned something I can take with me while on duty or in my personal life. I would recommend these guys for the first time shooter all the way up to anyone who is interested in advanced tactical training. I will be back and with a few of my squad members. Many thanks AHD, Michael Terranova
Stanford Hsu
Stanford Hsu
2016-11-20T14:34:11+0000
I was in Arizona on vacation and decided to take a course on tactical shooting for both training and the fun of it and I found Arizona Home Defence on the web. This was my first visit and previous to the course I even emailed them to ask a few questions like pre-requisites and if there were any minimum experience levels that was required for the "Stress Shoot" course as I would consider myself a beginner. A wonderful lady named Dana walked me through answering my questions and anything that she wasn't sure of, she addressed it promptly and said she would confirm with the instructor and would get back to me, which she always did so kindly! On the day of the course, I walked into a clean and organized office and both of the instructors for my course presented themselves professionally, organized, approachable and very friendly. To me that was a big relief as I did have a small concern on working with instructors that might present themselves in an unapproachable or intimidating manner. Virgil and Sky were absolutely approachable and very down to earth and put me at ease right off the bat! From the start of the course's classroom portion on firearms safety and orientation, it was obvious that both Virgil and Sky were very experienced and competent on the subject matter of firearms safety and operations and came across to me as more than excited to share their experience and pass their knowledge on to their students. I felt that the presentation was thorough and clear. In addition, both instructors were totally welcoming of any "newb" questions (which I'm sure I asked a few of!) and they handled it with grace and enthusiasm. Moving on to the outdoor range, both Virgil and Sky were very hands on in guiding and providing clear guidance on each of the scenarios BEFORE you were going to do it (this is important as I think as a student, we should be clear on what's expected before we move into action) and both instructors were always aware and attentive on the outdoor range. I always felt their presence and guiding hand and as long as you are listening to their instruction, everything was good! I absolutely enjoyed everything about the course and would WITHOUT hesitation recommend these guys if you are looking to getting some firearms training or are just curious. These guys love what they do and they are good at it. Well worth your time and dollars. I'm definitely going back when I'm down there again! Thanks again Virgil and Sky! I had an awesome experience!!
Trish Vitaliano-Koch
Trish Vitaliano-Koch
2016-11-13T04:28:51+0000
Highly recommend AHD! Virgil and Skyler were wonderful. Training is concise, easy to understand, and allows time for one to ask questions if needed. Range time was extremely informative and crucial for muscle memory/familiarity of our weapon. The classroom/range instruction allowed us to feel comfortable, safe and confident with our firearm. Training with ex-US Military staff was a bonus. Safety is #1...but it was a fun and confidence boosting as well. Don't allow yourself to become complacent...give AHD a call and take your skills to the next level.

 

Sara F
Sara F

5 out of 5 stars

posted 3 months ago

My first class changed my life! They answer the phone at all hours and make the class not only incredibly informative but also enjoyable and entertaining to help us retain what we learn. Every experience I've had with this business and the people has been stellar. It's obvious why they have all 5 star reviews - I'm so glad I found them!

David Donaldson
David Donaldson

5 out of 5 stars

posted 2 months ago

Had a great time, done concealed carry and basic handgun there. Virgil is an excellent teacher, and has a ton of good information. 5/5, will definitely be back.

Ryan Am
Ryan Am

5 out of 5 stars

posted 4 months ago

Absolute experts with an affable approach. These pros create a safe learning environment that is uniquely more personal (and fun) than other training places. The instructors really do care about your goals and know how to make you better. Wether your novice or a vet, try Arizona Home Defense first.